Drag has played a huge part in theatre as a whole, from La Cage Aux Folles, Hairspray and Kinky Boots. I decided that it would be interesting to take a trek off the beaten path and go see some local Queens perform. Let me just say, I was not prepared for the amount of talent that these ladies had and I cannot wait to go to see them perform again.

I was able to have a small interview with one of the queens that I featured below. Her name is Tequila Rose, but when she is not performing she is a student by the name of Matthew Cannon. While helping her shoot a couple of photos for her Instagram I got to ask her a question that I had been thinking about for a large portion of the night: why did you decide to become a Drag Queen? She took a small second and said “I do drag as a creative outlet. It’s an art to me because you get to create a whole different persona. I also love to entertain people most of all, and that’s a drag queen’s main job, and that’s why I do drag most of all.”

Stonewall Warehouse has drag performances every Tuesday, and multiple other events througout the week. I highly urge you to come out and support these amazing performers. Plus, who doesn’t want an excuse to go out on a Tuesday night and have a great time?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All of the Queens’ Instagrams have been added in order to more eaisly appreicate these amazing ladies.

